An asset life cycle represents the “life” of an asset, starting from the point in time where an organization first decides the asset is needed until the time that the asset is no longer useful and is disposed of. In general, an asset’s life cycle is broken up into 5 main stages:

  • Planning
  • Acquisition
  • Operation
  • Maintenance
  • Decommission

Related Topics:

<< Back to Maintenance Glossary